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IDAHO RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE PRACTICES ACT 

Effective July 1, 1996 
 

Boise, Idaho . . . . The new Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act, passed by the Idaho 
Legislature last session, goes into effect July 1, 1996. The Act charges the Department of 
Finance with the responsibility for licensing and regulating the mortgage activities of mortgage 
bankers and mortgage brokers. The legislation, which was the result of a cooperative effort by 
the mortgage industry and the Department of Finance, provides some regulatory oversight, 
minimum financial standards and a surety bond requirement to an industry which makes or 
brokers residential mortgage loans. Idaho joins a majority of states which now regulate mortgage 
lenders and mortgage brokers. 
 
Numerous provisions of the new Act are designed to protect consumers from unfair or deceptive 
practices by mortgage brokers and mortgage lenders while seeking a mortgage loan. Among the 
specific practices prohibited by the Act are: 
 

 requiring a borrower to pay any fees other than those set forth in the statute prior to 
closing the mortgage loan; 

 
 accepting any fees at closing which were not previously disclosed fully to the borrower; 

 
 delaying closing of a residential mortgage loan for the purpose of increasing interest, 

costs, fees, or charges payable by the borrower; 
 

 making any payment, directly or indirectly, to any kind of in-house or fee appraiser for 
the purpose of influencing the independent judgment of the appraiser; 

 
 obtaining any agreement or instrument in which blanks are left to be filled in after 

execution; and 
 

 engaging in any misrepresentation in connection with a residential mortgage loan. 
 



The Act requires that those engaged in mortgage lending or mortgage brokering activities obtain 
a license not later than August 31, 1996. Failure to comply with the licensing provision of the 
Act is a felony. Certain financial institutions, governmental agencies, real estate brokers and 
agents, attorneys and accountants are exempt from the Act. 
 
Qualifications for a license include a minimum net worth of $10,000 and a surety bond in the 
amount of $10,000. Each licensed mortgage broker and lender will be required to file an annual 
report with the Department setting forth the number and dollar amount of loans made or 
brokered during the previous year, and a list of the locations within the state at which business is 
conducted. 
 
Licensing applications can be obtained from the Department of Finance by mail or through the 
Internet:  

Idaho Department of Finance Securities Bureau P.O. Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0031 
Internet: http://www2.state.id.us/finance/dof.htm
 

For more information, please call the Department at (208) 332- 8004. 
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